

December 1, 2020 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

2020 Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award Watch List Issued

The College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) in association with The Associated Press (AP) and the Fiesta Bowl Organization, today released an updated watch list of 42 college football student-athletes from 37 different schools currently under consideration for the **2020 Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award**.

Since 2018, a panel of writers, editors and sports information directors from CoSIDA, AP and *Touchdown Illustrated* have recognized 30 college football student-athletes each season from all divisions of college football for overcoming injury or illness, by sharing their remarkable comeback stories. At the conclusion of each season, three college football student-athletes were honored as **Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award** winners during an on-field presentation at the PlayStation® Fiesta Bowl.

This season, two watch lists of Division 1 football student-athletes playing in the fall are being issued before the award semi-finalists are announced in mid-December. The three winners will be announced timed with the 2020-21 PlayStation® Fiesta Bowl, held on January 2, 2021.

The updated watch list includes the following breakdown per conference: American Athletic Conference (2), Atlantic Coast Conference (5), Big 12 (3), Big Ten (4), Conference USA (3), Independent (2), Mid-American (5), Mountain West (1), Pac-12 (3), Southeastern Conference (8), Sun Belt (6).

CONF.	PLAYER	SCHOOL
AAC	Sean Dykes, TE, Sr.	Memphis
AAC	James Wiggins, S, Sr.	Cincinnati
ACC	Jarrid Williams, OL, Sr.	Miami
ACC	Jashuan Corbin, RB, Jr.	Florida State
ACC	Jalen Camp, WR, Sr.	Georgia Tech
ACC	Tre Tipton, WR, Sr.	Pittsburgh
ACC	Rashad Weaver, DE, Sr.	Pittsburgh
BIG 12	Jack Anderson, OL, Sr.	Texas Tech.
BIG 12	Justin Hughes, LB, Sr.	Kansas State
BIG 12	Tylan Wallace, WR, Sr.	Oklahoma State
BIG Ten	Mike Epstein, RB, Sr.	Illinois
BIG Ten	Coy Cronk, OL, Sr.	Iowa
BIG Ten	Jake Funk, RB, Sr.	Maryland
BIG Ten	Rondale Moore, WR, So.	Purdue
C-USA	Brontae Harris, CB, Sr.	UAB
C-USA	Eric Kendzior, DL, Sr.	Louisiana Tech
C-USA	Jakairi Moses, RB, Jr.	Western Kentucky
Independent	Daelin Hayes, DE, Sr.	Notre Dame
Independent	Bennett Skowronek, WR, Sr.	Notre Dame
Mtn. West	Ezekiel Noa, LB, Jr.	Boise State
MAC	Andrew Clair, RB, Jr.	Bowling Green
MAC	Evan Finegan, P, Jr.	Buffalo
MAC	Kyle Pugh, LB, Sr.	Northern Illinois
MAC	Brandon Martin, LB, Jr.	Ball State
MAC	Bryce Harris, C, Sr.	Toledo
Pac-12	Jarek Broussard, RB, So.	Colorado
Pac-12	Jake Bentley, QB, Sr.	Utah
Pac-12	Andrzej Hughes-Murray, LB, Sr.	Oregon State
SEC	Dylan Moses, LB, Jr.	Alabama
SEC	Feleipe Franks, QB, Sr.	Arkansas
SEC	Noah Gatlin, OL, So.	Arkansas
SEC	Eli Stove, WR, Sr.	Auburn
SEC	JT Daniels, QB, So.	Georgia
SEC	Terry Wilson, QB, Sr.	Kentucky
SEC	Kenneth Horsey, OL, So.	Kentucky
SEC	Collin Hill, QB, Sr.	South Carolina
Sun Belt	Camerun Peoples, RB, So.	Appalachian State
Sun Belt	Logan Wright, RB, Jr.	Georgia Southern
Sun Belt	Brian Miller, OT, Jr.	Georgia Southern
Sun Belt	Ken Marks, OL, Sr.	Louisiana
Sun Belt	Silas Kelly, LB, Sr.	Coastal Carolina
Sun Belt	BJ Smith, RB, Sr.	Troy

"Our goal is to help fans better appreciate the roads these student-athletes have traveled. says Doug Vance, executive director of CoSIDA. "We hope these stories of achievement can inspire other people to meet the challenges in their own lives."

Previous winners of the Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award have been: 2018 - Antwan Dixon (Kent State University), Seth Simmer (Dartmouth College); Antonio Wimbush (Carson-Newman University); 2019 – Jake Luton (Oregon State University); Drew Wilson (Georgia Southern University) and Octavion Wilson (Salisbury University). For a complete list of past honorees, visit <u>www.Comeback-Player.com</u>.

About Mayo Clinic: <u>Mayo Clinic</u> is a nonprofit organization committed to innovation in clinical practice, education and research, and providing compassion, expertise and answers to everyone who needs healing. <u>Visit the Mayo Clinic News Network</u> for additional Mayo Clinic news and <u>Mayo Clinic Facts</u> for more information about Mayo.

About CoSIDA (College Sports Information Directors of America): CoSIDA was founded in 1957 and is a 3,000+ member national organization comprised of the sports public relations, media relations and communications/information professionals throughout all levels of collegiate athletics in the United States and Canada. The organization is the second oldest management association in intercollegiate athletics. To learn more, visit <u>cosida.com</u>.

About Associated Press: The Associated Press is the essential global news network, delivering fast, unbiased news from every corner of the world to all media platforms and formats. Founded in 1846, AP today is the most trusted source of independent news and information. On any given day, more than half the world's population sees news from AP. On the web: <u>www.ap.org.</u>

About the Fiesta Bowl Organization: Since 1971, the Fiesta Bowl is a world-class community organization that executes innovative experiences, drives economic growth and champions charitable causes, inspiring pride in all Arizonans during and outside of college football bowl season. As a nonprofit organization, it is driven by its vision for the importance of community outreach and service. Through the PlayStation® Fiesta Bowl, Guaranteed Rate Bowl and its year-round events, such as the Desert Financial Fiesta Bowl Parade, corporate partnerships and numerous community events throughout the year, the organization provides charitable giving to enhance Arizona nonprofit organizations that serve communities through youth, sports and education. On the web: FiestaBowl.org

###

Media Contacts: Doug Drotman (<u>doug@drotman-pr.com</u> or 631-462-1198) Doug Vance, CoSIDA (<u>dougvance@cosida.com</u> or 785-691-7708)