

October 11, 2023 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

2023 Comeback Player of the Year Award Watch List Issued

NEW YORK, NY – College Sports Communicators (formerly CoSIDA) in association with The Associated Press (AP) and the Fiesta Bowl Organization, today released an updated "Watch List" of 49 college football student-athletes from 42 different schools currently under consideration for the **2023 Comeback Player of the Year Award**.

Since 2018, the award has recognized college football student-athletes from all divisions of college football for overcoming injury, illness, or other circumstances. At the conclusion of each season, in a vote by a panel of college football writers, editors, and sports information directors, three college football student-athletes are honored as **Comeback Player of the Year Award** winners at the Vrbo Fiesta Bowl.

College athletic communications professionals working with football programs are encouraged to nominate deserving candidates at <u>www.Comeback-Player.com</u>. Here's a look at the October 2023 Comeback Player of the Year Watch List.

CONFERENCE	PLAYER	SCHOOL	POSITION
AAC	Nikhai Hill-Green	Charlotte	LB
AAC	Rahjai Harris	East Carolina	RB
AAC	Tai Lavatai	Navy	QB
AAC	Anthony Watkins	Tulsa	RB
ACC	Christian Mahogany	Boston College	OL

4.00			0.0
ACC	Tyler Van Dyke	Miami	QB
ACC	Savion Jackson	NC State	DE
ACC	Stefon Thompson	Syracuse	LB
ACC	Malachi Fields	Virginia	WR
ACC	Mike Hollins	Virginia	RB
BIG TEN	Cam Camper	Indiana	WR
BIG TEN	Erick All	Iowa	TE
BIG TEN	Blake Corum	Michigan	RB
BIG TEN	Thomas Fidone II	Nebraska	TE
BIG TEN	Garrett Miller	Purdue	TE
BIG TEN	Mohamed Toure	Rutgers	DL
Big 12	Malik Robinson	Houston	LB
Big 12	Daniel Hishaw Jr.	Kansas	RB
Big 12	Alan Bowman	Oklahoma State	QB
Big 12	Jaden Bray	Oklahoma State	WR
Big 12	Jalen Catalon	Texas	DB
Big 12	Cole Spencer	Texas Tech	OL
Big 12	CJ Donaldson Jr.	West Virginia	RB
Independent	Tyrell Robinson	Army	RB
MAC	Davon Ferguson	Bowling Green	СВ
MAC	Terion Stewart	Bowling Green	RB
MAC	Marion Lukes	Central Michigan	RB
MAC	Myles Bailey	Central Michigan	RB
MAC	O'Shaan Allison	Ohio University	RB
Mountain West	Markel Reed	Boise State	СВ
Mountain West	Tavian Combs	New Mexico	S/LB
Mountain West	Sabastian Harsh	Wyoming	DE
Pac 12	Brett Johnson	Cal-Berkeley	DL
Pac 12	Romello Height	USC	RE
Pac 12	Edefuan Ulofoshio	Washington	LB

SEC	Justin Eboigbe	Alabama	DL
SEC	Devin Leary	Kentucky	QB
SEC	Ainias Smith	Texas A&M	WR
SEC	Max Johnson	Texas A&M	QB
Sun Belt	Corey Rucker	Arkansas State	WR
Sun Belt	Braydon Bennett	Coastal Carolina	RB
Sun Belt	Rasheen Ali	Marshall	RB
Sun Belt	Stephen Dix Jr.	Marshall	LB
CAA	Matthew Downing	Elon	QB
MVC	DJ Williams	Murray State	QB
MVC	Myles Harden	South Dakota	CB
Patriot League	Jacob Dobbs	Holy Cross	LB
UAC	Keith Davis	Utah Tech	WR
UAC	Ronnie Walker Jr.	Utah Tech	RB

Previous winners of the **Comeback Player of the Year Award** include: 2022 - Mohamed Ibrahim (Minnesota); Laiatu Latu (UCLA); Michael Penix Jr. (Washington); 2021 – Aidan Hutchinson (Michigan); McKenzie Milton (Florida State); J.J. Weaver (Kentucky); 2020 – Jarek Broussard (Colorado); Kenneth Horsey (Kentucky); Silas Kelly (Coastal Carolina); 2019 – Jake Luton (Oregon State); Drew Wilson (Georgia Southern); Octavion Wilson (Salisbury); 2018 - Antwan Dixon (Kent State), Seth Simmer (Dartmouth); Antonio Wimbush (Carson-Newman). For a complete list of past honorees, visit www.Comeback-Player.com.

College Sports Communicators is the premier membership association for all strategic, creative and digital professionals working in intercollegiate athletics across all levels for colleges, universities and conferences across the United States and Canada. CSC provides year-round leadership, community, professional development/education, recognition and advocacy for its more than 4,100 members. Founded in 1957 as the College Sports Information Directors of America, the organization rebranded in 2022 to position itself as a more inclusive organization for communicators in all types of roles and to lead an industry change where strategic and creative professionals are more aligned. CSC's signature work includes the annual CSC Unite convention each June and the administration of the prestigious Academic All-America® program and Hall of Fame. Since 1952, more than 40,000 of the world's most elite student-athletes have been recognized with Academic All-America status in all sports.

###

Media Contact: Doug Drotman (doug@drotman-pr.com or 631-462-1198)